Society for Conservation Biology

A global community of conservation professionals

  • Member Login
  • Contact
Forgot Password?
Join Contribute Jobs
working-groups image

SSWG Teaching Resources

Conservation Social Science Syllabi

SCB SSWG Education Committee

Anthropology

1. Course Title: Cultural Ecology/Ecological Anthropology

Andrew Mathews (mathewsa@fiu.edu)
Department of Anthropology and Sociology
Florida International University

2. Course Title: Economic Anthropology

Bram Tucker (bram@bramtucker.us)
Department of Anthropology
University of Georgia

3. Course Title: Conservation and Community

Peter Brosius (pbrosius@uga.edu)
Department of Anthropology
University of Georgia

4. Course Title: HOUSEHOLDS, COMMUNITIES, GENDER (FOR DEVELOPMENT & CONSERVATION)

Carol Carpenter (carol.carpenter@yale.edu)
School of Forestry & Environmental Studies & the Department of Anthropology
Yale University

5. Course Title: Human Dimensions of Wildlife Conservation

Stephanie Spehar (spehars@uwosh.edu)
Department of Anthropology and Department of Environmental Studies
University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh

Economics

1. Course Title: Ecological Economics (2007) & Ecological Economics (2002)

Brian Czech (brianczech@juno.com)
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

2. Course Title: Economic and Social Aspects of Conservation Biology

Steve Polasky (polasky@umn.edu)
Department of Applied Economics
Department of Ecology, Evolution & Behavior
University of Minnesota

Geography

1. Course Title: Political Ecology Seminar: Society, Ecology and the Politics of Environmental Science

Peter Walker (pwalker@uoregon.edu)
Department of Geography, Environmental Studies Program
University of Oregon

2. Course Title: Political Ecology

Tom Bassett (bassett@uiuc.edu)
Department of Geography
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

3. Course Title: Human Dimensions of Global Environmental Change

Rinku Roy Chowdhury (rroychowdhury@miami.edu)
Dept. of Geography & Regional Studies
University of Miami

4. Course Title: Perspectives on Environmental Decisions, with K . Broad

Rinku Roy Chowdhury (rroychowdhury@miami.edu)
Dept. of Geography & Regional Studies
University of Miami

Political Science

1. Course Title: Environmental Politics

Michael Lipscomb (lipscombm@winthrop.edu)
Department of Political Science/Users/vernadelauer/.Trash/sd692.pdf
Winthrop University

2. Course Title: The Politics of Conservation in Developing Countries

Clark Gibson (ccgibson@ucsd.edu)
Department of Political Science
University of California, San Diego

3. Course Title: Public Opinion and the Environment

Paul Mohai (pmohai@umich.edu)
School of Natural Resources and the Environment
University of Michigan

4. Course Title: Politics of the Environment 175

Eric Smith (smith@polsci.ucsb.edu)
Department of Political Science and Department of Environmental Studies
University of California, Santa Barbara

5. Course Title: Politics of the Environment 294

Eric Smith (smith@polsci.ucsb.edu)
Department of Political Science and Department of Environmental Studies
University of California, Santa Barbara

 

Psychology

1. Course Title: Psychology of Environmental Problems

Deborah Winter (winterd@whitman.edu)
Psychology Department
Whitman College

2. Course Title: Ecological Psychology

Sue Koger (skoger@willamette.edu)
Department of Psychology
Willamette University

3. Course Title: Behavior and Environment

Raymond De Young (rdeyoung@umich.edu)
School of Natural Resources and the Environment
University of Michigan

4. Course Title: Environmental Psychology

James Eubanks (eubanksj@cwu.edu)
Department of Psychology
Central Washington University:

5. Course Title: Environmental Psychology and the Wilderness Experience

David Campbell (dec1@humboldt.edu)
Department of Psychology
Humboldt State University

Sociology

1. Course Title: Environment and Society

Judith Perrolle (perrolle@ccs.neu.edu)
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Northeastern University

2. Course Title: Environment, Technology and Society

Judith Perrolle (perrolle@ccs.neu.edu)
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Northeastern University

3. Course Title: Environmental Sociology: An Environmental Justice Approach/The Science and Political Economy of Environmental Health and Social Justice

Phil Brown (phil_brown@brown.edu)
Department of Sociology & Center for Environmental Studies
Brown University

4. Course Title: Sociology of Natural Resources and the Environment

Conner Bailey (cbailey@acesag.auburn.edu)
Department of Agricultural Economics & Rural Sociology
Auburn University

5. Course Title: Environment and Society

Dale Blahna (blahna@cc.usu.edu)
Department of Environment and Society
College of Natural Resources
Utah State University

6. Course Title: Human Dimensions of Natural Resource Management

Dale Blahna (blahna@cc.usu.edu)
Department of Environment and Society
College of Natural Resources
Utah State University

7. Course Title: Theoretical Foundations in Human Dimensions of Ecosystem Science and Management

Dale Blahna (blahna@cc.usu.edu)
Department of Environment and Society
College of Natural Resources
Utah State University

8. Course Title: Communities and the Environment

Clark Gibson (ccgibson@ucsd.edu)
Department of Political Science
University of California, San Diego

 

Interdisciplinary

1. Course Title: Conserving Biological Diversity

Richard Wallace (rwallace@ursinus.edu)
Department of Environmental Studies
Ursinus College

2. Course Title: Marine Mammal Conservation and Management

Richard Wallace (rwallace@ursinus.edu)
Department of Environmental Studies
Ursinus College

3. Course Title: International Biodiversity Conservation

Charles Chester (charles.chester@tufts.edu)
Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy
Tufts University

4. Course Title: Conserving Biological Diversity

Charles Chester (charles.chester@tufts.edu)
Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy
Tufts University

5. Course Title: Human Dimensions of Biological Conservation

Terre Satterfield and Kai Chan (satterfd@interchange.ubc.ca)
Institute for Resources, Environment and Sustainability
University of British Columbia

6. Course Title: Biodiversity Conservation Policy and Planning

Yongyut Trisurat (fforyyt@ku.ac.th)
Department of Forest Biology, Faculty of Forestry
Kasetsart University

7. Course Title: Human Organizations and Ecosystem Management

Rebecca Zarger (zarger@fiu.edu)
Environmental Studies and Sociology/Anthropology
Florida International University

8. Course Title: Climate and Society: An Interdisciplinary Approach

Kenneth Broad and Amy Clements (kbroad@rsmas.miami.edu)
Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
University of Miami

9. Course Title: Environment and Society

Steve Breyman (breyms@rpi.edu)
Department of Science and Technology Studies
School of Humanities & Social Science
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

10. Course Title: Ecosystem Services

Kai Chan (kaichan@ires.ubc.ca)
Institute for Resources, Environment, and Sustainability
University of British Columbia

11. Course Title: Human Dimensions of Conservation

Kai Chan / Terre Satterfield (kaichan@ires.ubc.ca / satterfd@interchange.ubc.ca)
Institute for Resources, Environment, and Sustainability
University of British Columbia

12. Course Title: Conservation and Development

David M. Hoffman (dhoffman@upeace.org)
Department of Environment, Peace, and Security
Natural Resources and Sustainable Development Programme
University for Peace

13. Course Title: Management of Coastal Resources

David M. Hoffman (dhoffman@upeace.org)
Department of Environment, Peace, and Security
Natural Resources and Sustainable Development Programme
University for Peace

14. Course Title: Social Science of Development and Conservation

Carol Carpenter (carol.carpenter@yale.edu)
School of Forestry & Environmental Studies & the Department of Anthropology
Yale University

15. Course Title: Technology, Society, and the Environment

Arnulf Grubler (arnulf.grubler@yale.edu)
School of Forestry and Environmental Studies
Yale University

Other Resources

1. List of Songs Related to Climate Change and Human Impact on the Environment

Richard Wallace (rwallace@ursinus.edu)
Department of Environmental Studies
Ursinus College

 

For more information or to submit additional syllabi please contact David Hoffman, Education Committee Chair (dhoffman@upeace.org).