Society for Conservation Biology

A global community of conservation professionals

  • Member Login
  • Contact
Forgot Password?
Join Contribute Jobs
sections image

Africa Section Board of Directors

The Africa Section of the Society for Conservation has an international following of members that support conservation on the African continent. The board of directors is an elected body that facilitates the goals and activities of the Section.

Current Members

Edward Nector Mwavu, President 
Makerere University
Term ends on 31 December 2014

Ron Abrams, Finance and Monitoring Officer
Long Island University 
United States
Term ends on 31 December 2014

Grace Mwaura, Education and Science Officer
Oxford University/African Youth Initiative on Climate Change 
Term ends on 31 December 2014

Incoming Members

Starting on 1 January 2015, the Africa Section will welcome four new board members. All members of the board serve three-year terms. 

Stephen M. AwoyemiPresident 
University of Cambridge
Term ends on 31 December 2017

Fola BabalolaMembership and Nominations Officer
University of Ilorin 
Term ends on 31 December 2017

Benis N. Egoh, Member-at-Large
University of Kwazulu-Natal
South Africa 
Term ends on 31 December 2017

Tuyeni H. MwampambaMember-at-Large
Universidad Nacional Autonomo de Mexico
Centre for Ecosystem Research
Term ends on 31 December 2017

Michael Aigbe UwagbaeMember-at-Large
Wetlands International - Africa 
Term ends on 31 December 2017

Future Members

If you are interested in being a member of the African Board you must be a member of SCB and a member of the Section. Generally two-to-four board members are elected annually. The Call for Nominations goes out in September or October and the election runs in October or November. Each year section members receive an email about the open positions and the start of the election process. For more information about getting involved with this board, please contact a board member or