Society for Conservation Biology

A global community of conservation professionals

  • Member Login
  • Contact
Forgot Password?
Join Contribute Jobs

SCB Board of Governors


SCB's Board meeting in July 2013, Baltimore, Maryland, USA (From left to right: Barry Noon, Rurik List, Ron Abrams, Carlos Carroll, James Watson, Karen Beard, Kate Christen, Andras Baldi, Edward Mwavu, Geri Unger, Paul Beier, Carolyn Lundquist, Rodrigo Medellin, Alex Dehgan, Dominick DellaSala, Cagan Sekercioglu, John Cigliano, David Johns, Simon Nemtzov)



Ron Abrams
Long Island University
720 Northern Boulevard
Brookville, NY 11548
ronwoolf07@gmail.com
ecofootprint@conbio.org
*Chair, Ecological Footprint Committee

András Báldi
Baross u. 13.
Budapest 1088
Hungary
andrasbaldi@gmail.com
Section Governing Board President: Europe

Karen Beard
Utah State University
Logan, Utah
United States
karen.beard@usu.edu
Member At Large
Chair, Publications Committee

Paul Beier
School of Forestry
Northern Arizona University
Flagstaff AZ, 86011-5018
United States
Paul.Beier@nau.edu
Past President 

Nora Bynum
Duke University
Durham, North Carolina
United States
elb@duke.edu
Member At Large

Carlos Carroll
Klamath Center for Conservation Research
PO Box 104
Orleans, CA 95556
United States
carlos@klamathconservation.org
Member At Large
Chair, Policy Committee

Kate Christen
Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute
1500 Remount Road
Front Royal, VA 22630
United States
christenc@si.edu
Secretary
Chair, Strategic Planning Committee

John Cigliano
Cedar Crest College 
100 College Drive
Allentown, PA 18104
United States
jaciglia@cedarcrest.edu
Section Governing Board President: Marine

Emily Darling
David H. Smith Conservation Research Fellow
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 
United States
esdarling@gmail.com
Co-Chair, Ad Hoc Social Media Committee

Alex Dehgan
US Agency for International Development
Ronald Reagan Building
Washington, DC 20523-1000
United States
alexdehgan@gmail.com
Member at Large

Dominick DellaSala
National Center for Conservation Science & Policy
84 4th Street, Ashland, OR 97520
United States
dominick@geosinstitute.org
Section Governing Board President: North America

Leo Douglas
Columbia University
American Museum of Natural History
11A Lounsbury Avenue
Kingston 10
Jamaica, West Indies
lrd2107@columbia.edu
Co-Chair, Ad Hoc Diversity Committee

Nigella Hillgarth
Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California San Diego,
9500 Gilman Drive, 0207, La Jolla, CA 92093
United States
nhillgarth@ucsd.edu
Chair, Audit Committee

David Johns
P.O. Box 725
Mc Minnville, OR, USA 97128-0725
johnsd@embarqmail.com
Treasurer
Chair, Finance and Investment Committee

Beth Kaplin
Antioch University New England
40 Avon Street
Keene, NH, USA 03431
bkaplin@antioch.edu
Member At Large

Richard Kingsford
Centre for Ecosystem Science
University of New South Wales
Sydney NSW 2052 
Australia
richard.kingsford@unsw.edu.au
Section Governing Board President: Oceania

Andrew Knight
Department of Life Sciences
Imperial College London
United Kingdom
andrew.knight1@imperial.ac.uk
Member at Large

Rurik List
Departamento de Ciencias Ambientales
Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana-Lerma
Hidalgo Pte. 46
52006 Lerma Edo. de Mexico
Mexico
r.list@correo.ler.uam.mx
Section Governing Board President: Latin America and Caribbean

Carolyn Lundquist
National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research (NIWA), New Zealand
Gate 10, Silverdale Road
PO Box 11-115 Hamilton 3251
New Zealand
Carolyn.Lundquist@niwa.co.nz
Chair, Awards Committee

Rodrigo Medellin
Instituto de Ecología, UNAM
Ap. Postal 70-275
C.P. 04510
México, D. F.
medellin@miranda.ecologia.unam.mx
President (2013-2015)

Edward Nector Mwavu
Makerere University, Kampala
Department of Forest Biology & Ecosystems Management
Kampala
P.O. Box 7062
Uganda
emwavu@forest.mak.ac.ug
Section Governing Board President: Africa

Barry Noon
Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523
United States
brnoon@warnercnr.colostate.edu
Member At Large

Chris Parsons
Department of Environmental Science and Policy
George Mason University
Fairfax, Virginia
United States
ecm-parsons@earthlink.net
Member At large
Chair, Conference Committee

Aluri Jacob Solomon Raju 
Andhra University
Karachettu Rd, Andhra University South Campus, Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh 530003
India
ajsraju@yahoo.com
Section Governing Board President: Asia

Sadie Ryan
State University of New York - College of Environmental Science and Forestry
1 Forestry Drive
Syracuse, NY 13210
United States
sjryan@esf.edu
Chair, Education and Student Affairs Committee

Cagan Sekercioglu
Univeristy of Utah; KuzeyDoga Society
201 Presidents Cir #201
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
United States; Turkey
c.s@utah.edu
Chair, Chapters Committee

Eleanor Sterling
Center for Biodiversity and Conservation
American Museum of Natural History
Central Park West at 79th Street
New York, NY 10024-5192
United States
sterling@amnh.org
Co-Chair, Ad Hoc Diversity Committee

Gary Tabor
Center for Large Landscape Conservation
P.O. Box 1587
Bozeman, Montana 59771
United States
wildcatalyst@gmail.com
Member At Large
Chair, Ad Hoc Development Committee

James Watson
Wildlife Conservation Society
United States
University of Queensland
Australia
jwatson@wcs.org
President Elect
Chair, Membership Committee 


Ex-officio Board Member

Geri Unger
1017 O Street NW
Washington, DC 20001-4229 US
phone: 202-234-4133 x102
gunger@conbio.org
Executive Director

Regional Section Board Members

Please see the Section webpages for current board member listings.